Minutes of the April 28, 2025 OVIS Meeting

Those in attendance were: Brian Smith, Jim Wiesner, Bob Fortner, Terry Fortner, Skip LeFleur, Connie Rieben, Todd Guarino, Chris Clement, Ron Girard, John Yanofsky, Janice Froelich, Bill DeVine, and Christina DeVine.

The meeting was convened at 6:05 PM at Molly Goodhead's restaurant.

Due to a misunderstanding on the start time from 7 PM to 6 PM for County Commissioner Dave Eggers, the group modified the agenda to take up the Election of Officers once the commissioner arrived.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Jim Wiesner provided the Financial Report indicating the Save The Hall event has so far raised \$8,165.00. There are currently 133 paid members of OVIS and there are 11 sponsors. Jim reported on expenses and revenues and indicated the current balance is \$28,206.74.

The group then proceeded to discuss the hall repair improvement project. Brian emphasized the importance of the funding from the Save The Hall event was that this could be used for expenses that the project will have in advance of receiving the state funding. He reported that the special appropriation for the hall is in good shape with the legislature. The special appropriation is for \$389,500. Representative Adam Anderson is the sponsor in the House and Senator Ed Hooper is a sponsor in the Senate.

Brian indicated there was a need to define the specifics of the project in terms of elevation and moving of the hall. Because the hall has a historic designation, deviations from normal requirements are allowed. Therefore, there was a need to establish a steering committee to identify what specifics are needed to make the project be compatible with the historic designation. Brian indicated the committee should include the County's historic preservation specialist and several members of the OVIS Board. Through discussion the committee membership was defined. It included Brian Smith, Todd Guarino, Skip LeFleur, Jim Wiesner, Tom Scofield, and Paul Palmer (historic preservation consultant). To add professional historic preservation knowledge to the committee, the agreement with Paul Palmer was approved.

The group then took up the Election of Officers and board members for OVIS. Bob Fortner provided the nomination committee report for the membership which included Brian Smith as President, Todd Guarino as Vice President, Jim Wiesner as Treasurer, Julie Longen as Secretary, and other board members being Connie Rieben, Sue White, Steve Krout, Skip LeFleur, and Barry Salus. The nominated people were approved for their various office holdings. County Commissioner Dave Eggers then conducted the swearing in ceremony of the Board.

The Commissioner provided a report on a number of projects in the County that were of interest to the Ozona community along with discussions with those in attendance.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7 PM.